Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts with the label social-networking

Somebody's saying bad things about you

Ever if you receive a direct message (DM) from someone on Twitter (most probably someone you follow on Twitter) like "somebody's saying bad things about you" followed with a shortened link - don't ever click it! These are all fake messages and generated by a malicious script or some kind of web virus ! If you happen to click the link, a variety of bad things might happen, including passing on similar messages under your name to others and also including things such as trying to infect your computer with a virus. If you have, or think you may have clicked on a dodgy link in a message like this, there are four remedial steps you should take:

Twitter's Zero-Follower Bug is the off-spring from Make-Anyone-your-Follower Bug

This might be the beginning of a cyber doom's day or the judgement day for the social networking as Twitter's programmers are having a hard time fixing the "make-anyone-your-follower" bug. The bug discovered earlier and passed on to their friend lists by social networkers was about using a reserved word (which was probably intended originally for an upcoming "invitation" feature to be added to Twitter. The word was simply "accept" when proceeded by a twitter user's handle (for example @skyhan) which would force that user to be added to your follower's list. I was too late to exploit the bug to triple the list of my followers, as I logged in to my Twitter account, both the list of my followers and those I follow were totally gone! By the time I tried to use the command-like combination accept @someone as a tweet, I instantly got an internal server error. I believe Twitter's coders are on the issue and in an attempt to fix unjustly added ...

Beware of Fake Facebook notifications and Other Phishing MessagesN

I received another fake Facebook phishing message, and this time, I decided to share it with my friends and readers of my blog, since some scam are so realistically designed, non-techie people could hardly tell if it is fake or real! Ever if you receive a message which has the following to say (or anything similar), don't you dare click on the link : Dear Facebook user, In an effort to make your online experience safer and more enjoyable, Facebook will be implementing a new login system that will affect all Facebook users. These changes will offer new features and increased account security. Before you are able to use the new login system, you will be required to update your account. Click here to update your account online now. If you have any questions, reference our New User Guide. Thanks, The Facebook Team